Five of the six people rejected by Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga due to the issue of refusal to appoint the Science Council of Japan will be active as collaborative members who do not need to appoint the Prime Minister for the time being. I found out. The meeting has repeatedly asked for the appointment of six people and a detailed explanation of the reasons for the refusal, but the administration has not responded. “We will continue to ask the government to appoint us so that we can be active as members,” a member of the conference’s executives said in an interview with Kyodo News.

The science council has 210 members and is a special-purpose national civil servant. Appointed by the Prime Minister based on the recommendations of the meeting. The term of office is 6 years. In the replacement in October last year, Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga refused to appoint six of the 105 people recommended by the conference.